Stay Informed


May 8th Voterguide | Preliminary November 6th Voterguide





Equality NC and Equality NC Action Fund PAC is proud to announce endorsements for the 2018 elections. We evaluated candidates using multiple factors, including responses to a LGBTQ-issue-based questionnaire, candidate interviews, public position statements, and past voting records.

  • No ID, No Problem: The courts struck down the monster voter suppression law, meaning you DO NOT need an ID to vote this year.
  • One Stop Registration (during early voting): If you aren’t registered to vote yet, you CAN register and vote at any early voting location in your county.
  • Unaffiliated voters may cast their vote in any one recognized party's primary but registered party members can only vote their party's ballot.


May 8th Voter Guide

The following candidates have primaries and will appear on the ballot on May 8th.

U.S. House of Representatives

District 2-  Wendy Ella May 
District 4- David Price
District 5- DD Adams
District 5- Jenny Marshall
District 6- Ryan Watts
District 7- Kyle Horton
District 8- Marc Tiegel
District 11- Steve Woodsmall
District 12- Alma Adams
District 13- Kathy Manning

State House of Representatives

District 2- Darryl Moss
District 8- Kandie Smith
District 11- Allison Dahle
District 20- Leslie Cohen
District 35- Terence Everitt
District 43- Prince Christian
District 65- Wally White
District 83- Senah Andrews
District 98- Christy Clark
District 101- Carolyn Logan
District 104 - Brandon Lofton
District 105- Wesley Harris

State Senate

District 2- Ginger Garner
District 16- Wiley Nickel
District 19- Kirk DeViere
District 34- Beniah McMiller
District 38- Mujtaba Mohammed
District 39- Beth Monaghan (Republican Ticket)
District 39- Chad Stachowicz (Democrat Ticket)
District 47- David Wheeler

Guilford County District Attorney

Stephanie Reese

Durham District Attorney

Satana Deberry

Mecklenburg County District Attorney

Spencer Merriweather

Mecklenburg County Commissioners

At-Large- Pat Cotham
At Large- Trevor Fuller    
At Large- Jamie Hildreth    
At Large- Ray McKinnon
District 3- George Dunlap
District 4- Mark Jerrell

New Hanover County Commissioners

Julia Olson-Boseman

Orange County Clerk of Superior Court

Mark Kleinschmidt

Wake County Commissioners

District 1- Sig Hutchinson
District 2- Matt Calabria
District 4- Susan Evans
District 7- John Burns


Preliminary November 6th Voter Guide

The following candidates do not have primaries and will appear on the ballot on November 6th. This guide is a first release. This voterguide will continue to update. We are receiving new questionnaires each week and additionally will have candidates added after the primaries in May.

U.S. House of Representatives

District 10- David Brown

State House of Representatives

District 9- Kris Rixon
District 15- Dan Whitten
District 18- Deb Butler
District 19- Marcia Morgan
District 26- Linda Bennett
District 29- Maryann Black
District 30- Marcia Morey
District 31- Zack Hawkins
District 36- Julie von Haefen
District 37- Sydney Batch
District 50- Graig Meyer
District 57- Ashton Clemmons
District 59- Steven Buccini
District 60- Cecil Brockman
District 61- Mary Price (Pricey) Harrison
District 62- Martha Shafer
District 63- Erica McAdoo
District 69- Jennifer Benson
District 74- Terri LeGrand
District 75- Dan Besse
District 77- Bonnie Dawn Clark
District 82- Aimy Steele
District 84- Allen Edwards
District 85- Howard Larsen
District 87- Amanda Bregel
District 92- Chaz Beasley
District 95- Carla Fassbender
District 100- John Autry
District 103- Rachel Hunt
District 104- Brandon Lofton
District 114- Susan Fisher
District 117- Gayle Kemp
District 118- Rhonda Cole Schandevel

State Senate

District 7- Barbara Dantonio
District 9- Harper Peterson
District 10- Vernon Moore
District 20- Floyd B. McKissick, Jr.
District 24- J.D. Wooten
District 27- Michael Garrett
District 30- Jen Mangrum
District 31- John Motsinger, Jr.
District 37- Jeff Jackson
District 41- Natasha Marcus
District 45- Brandon Anderson
District 48- Norm Bossert

NC Supreme Court

Anita Earls

Mecklenburg County Commissioners

District 6- Susan Rodriguez-McDowell

Pender County Commissioners

District 2- Carol Johnson

NC Court of Appeals

John Arrowood

Wilkes County Commissioners

LB Prevette

Stay in Touch

Talk to us:

P.O. Box 28768
Raleigh, NC 27611
tel (919) 829-0343
fax (919) 827-4573

[email protected]

Stay Connected

Follow us on:

Stay Informed


Equality NC is a 501(c)(4) organization that supports the advocacy and lobbying activities of Equality NC. Contributions are not tax-deductible


Who We Are | What We Do | The Latest | Take Action
Privacy | Contact Us

© 2012 Equality NC · All Rights Reserved

Powered by ARCOS | Design by Plus Three